Founding President of B-MRS is elected Fellow of the Microscopy Society of America (MSA).

Prof. Guillermo Solórzano
Prof. Guillermo Solórzano

Professor Guillermo Solórzano-Naranjo, one of the leaders in the creation of B-MRS and the first president of the society, was appointed fellow of the Microscopy Society of America (MSA) at the end of February of this year. Thus, Solórzano-Naranjo became the first academic in Latin America with a MSA fellowship status.

This title is intended for senior members of that scientific society who have contributed significantly to the advancement of microscopy and microanalysis. In the case of Professor Solórzano-Naranjo, he was chosen for his excellence in the application of microscopy to solve materials problems, as well as for the service rendered as ambassador for international cooperation through microscopy.

Guillermo Solórzano-Naranjo is a professor in the Department of Chemistry and Materials Engineering at PUC-Rio. He is a member of the board of the International Federation of Societies for Microscopy (IFSM), where he is also the only representative of Latin America. In addition to being founding president of B-MRS, he has served or was a member of executive committees of several scientific entities in the field of microscopy, such as the Brazilian Society of Microscopy and Microanalysis (SBMM), the Brazilian Society of Electronic Microscopy (SBME); Inter American Committee of Societies for Electron Microscopy (IACSEM); International Union of Microbeam Analysis Society (IUMAS). He was also chairman of the seventeenth edition of the International Conference of Microscopy, held in 2010 for the first time in South America.

Solorzano-Naranjo will be honored by MSA at the awards ceremony that will take place at the opening of the M&M2018 event on August 6 in Baltimore (United States).

People in SBPMat community: SBPMat council member Carlos Roberto Grandini and three other researchers from Brazil integrate the international college of fellows of the International Union of Biomaterials Societies.

Brazilian researchers were awarded the status of “Fellow, Biomaterials Science and Engineering” (FBSE) by the International Union of Biomaterials Science (World’s Biomaterials Societies). The honorary title is a recognition of excellence in professional performance and the achievements made in the field of Biomaterials Science and Engineering. The new fellows now are part of an international college, joining 300 researchers who are committed to strengthening and divulging the field of Biomaterials. The honor was awarded in a ceremony at the opening of the 10th World Biomaterials Congress, held in Montréal (Canada) in May.

One of the new FBSE of Brazil is Professor Carlos Roberto Grandini (from the State University of São Paulo, UNESP, campus Bauru), counselor of SBPMat and 1st Vice President of the Latin American Society of Biomaterials and Artificial Organs (SLABO). Grandini received the honorary title for his contributions in the field of metallic biomaterials and for his leadership in the Latin American scientific community. Besides Grandini, the other new fellows are the Brazilian researchers Aron Jose Pazin de Andrade (Instituto Dante Pazzanese de Cardiologia), Luís Alberto Loureiro dos Santos (Federal University of Rio Grande do Sul, UFRGS) and Marivalda de Magalhaes Pereira (Federal University of Minas Gerais, UFMG).

Professor Grandini receiving the title of “Fellow, Biomaterials Science and Engineering”.

Recognition of the American Ceramic Society (ACerS) to the Brazilian scientist Edgar Zanotto: elected fellow of the society.

Edgar Dutra Zanotto.

Edgar Dutra Zanotto, Professor at the Federal University of São Carlos (UFSCar), one of the founders of SBPMat and researcher in the Materials area for nearly 40 years, was chosen as a fellow of the American Ceramic Society (ACerS) – a recognition conferred annually upon few select members.

The elevation to fellow is a peer recognition by ACerS members for outstanding contributions to ceramics science or art. In fact, the fellows of ACerS are chosen from the almost 10,000 members of the society, located in 70 countries, in a nomination and election process that has the participation of members, fellows, and with the final approval of the directors of ACerS. For scientists working in academia, scientific and technological production is one of the main points considered in the election.

Professor Zanotto currently has more than 5,500 citations and an H index of 40, according to Google Scholar. Among the other positions he holds, he is director of the Center for Research, Technology and Education in Vitreous Materials (CeRTEV) and editor of the Journal of Non-Crystalline Solids.

The election of the new fellows of ACerS will be celebrated at the awards and recognition banquet of the 118th annual meeting of the society on 24 October 2016 in Salt Lake City, Utah, in the United States.