Founding member of B-MRS is elected “Scientist of the Year” by the Nanocell Institute.

Edgar Dutra Zanotto.
Edgar Dutra Zanotto.

Professor Edgar Dutra Zanotto (UFSCar), a member of B-MRS and one of its founders, was elected “Scientist of the Year” in the area of fine materials chemistry: sustainable routes and new (nano) materials in the “Scientist and Entrepreneur of the Year Award”. In total, eight professors, six students and one company were awarded in the various categories. The award was presented on October 20 in a ceremony held at the Institute of Chemistry of the University of São Paulo (USP).

The winners were chosen through a process that involved nominating candidates by the Nanocell Institute site users, that community`s online voting, and voting by a pool of researchers (members of scientific committees, foundations, associations and societies).

The “Scientist and Entrepreneur of the Year Award” is sponsored by the Nanocell Institute, a non-governmental organization whose mission is “to promote science and education, developing technology and innovation for social welfare” and the Brazilian Society of Cellular Signaling (SBSC). The award aims to recognize and disseminate innovative works in the areas of science, education and public health.

For more information about the award visit:


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *