B-MRS and IUMRS announce new schedule and plenary sessions for the joint event to be held in 2021.

logo2021b_400pxThe Brazilian Materials Research Society (B-MRS) and the International Union of Materials Research Societies (IUMRS) announce the new schedule and confirm the plenary speakers of the joint event XIX B-MRS Meeting + IUMRS ICEM. Due to the Covid-19 pandemic, the joint event, which would be held this year, was postponed to be held from August 29 to September 2, 2021. The venue will be maintained: the Rafain Palace Hotel and Conventions, located in Foz do Iguaçu (PR, Brazil).

The new call for thematic symposium proposals starts on May 4 and ends on November 2, 2020. The symposium organizers who submitted proposals in 2019 will be able to again submit them in this new call. In addition, the system will be open to receive new proposals, which should be prepared by groups of researchers, preferably composed of international researchers, on topics related to any type of materials, from synthesis to applications (including electronic materials, which are the focus of IUMRS ICEM).

To submit a symposium proposal, simply complete the online form on the event website. The symposium proposals will be evaluated by the event committee, and, the list of approved symposia will be released between the end of 2020 and the beginning of 2021. The submission of abstracts for presentation within the symposia will remain open from February 1st to April 11th, 2021. The symposium organizers will be responsible for the evaluation of the submitted abstracts and for the symposium program.

The symposia will be the main axis of the event along with the plenary lectures, which will feature internationally renowned scientists, such as Alex Zunger (University of Colorado Boulder, USA), Edson Leite (LNNano, Brazil), Hideo Hosono (TokyoInstitute of Technology, Japan), John Rogers (Northwestern University, USA), Luisa Torsi (Università degli Studi di Bari “A. Moro”, Italy), Tao Deng (Shanghai Jiaotong University, China) and Thuc-Quyen Nguyen (University of California Santa Barbara, USA). The traditional memorial lecture of the B-MRS Meeting will be given by professor Cid Bartolomeu de Araújo (UFPE, Brazil). All speakers have confirmed their presence at the event.

The organizing committee of XIX B-MRS Meeting + IUMRS – ICEM 2021 is formed by professor Gustavo Martini Dalpian (UFABC) as conference chair, Carlos Cesar Bof Bufon (LNNANO) as program chair, and Flavio Leandro de Souza (UFABC) in the general secretary. In the international committee, the event has scientists from America, Asia, Europe and Oceania.

Event website: https://www.B-MRS .org.br/19encontro/


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *