New board of SBPMat directors and members of the council: investiture and first meeting.

On February 14th of this year, at 10 o’clock, the Brazilian Society of Materials Research (SPBMat) had an investiture ceremony for the Seventh Board of directors, for a two-year term beginning in January, 2014. Together with the Board of directors, four new full counselors and a deputy counselor were in role, whose term goes until 2018. The ceremony took place at Golden Park Hotel Viracopos, in the city of Campinas, in Sao Paulo. The new Board of directors and the new counselors were elected by vote at the end of 2013.

New Board of directors on the day of the investiture. From left to right, Rodrigo Bianchi, Marco Cremona, André Pasa, Ieda Garcia dos Santos, Julio Sambrano, Maria Aparecida Zaghete and Roberto Faria (president).

First meeting

The first meeting with the new Board of directors, together with the council occurred on the same day, at 2 p.m.

At the meeting, members of the board and council were appointed to take part in SBPMat’s commitee. For the Events Commitee, Professor Marco Cremona, Professor Iêda Maria Garcia dos Santos and Professor José Alberto Giacometti were assigned; for the SBPMat Bulletin Commitee, Professors Fernando Lázaro Freire Junior, André Avelino Pasa and José Antonio Eiras; and for University Chapters Commitee, Professors Rodrigo Fernando Bianchi, Antonio José Felix de Carvalho, Iêda Maria Garcia dos Santos, Maria Aparecida Zaghete and Waldemar Augusto de Almeida Macedo. As responsible for creating the document “Materials Science Impact” together with Institute of Physics, Professors Roberto Mendonça Faria, Marco Cremona and Julio Ricardo Sambrano were chosen. It is important to highlight that other SBPMat associates besides the initial members can be included.

During the meeting, scientific directors were assigned their duties.

See current members of the Board and Council and learn about our directors and their roles.