Prof. Elvira Fortunato (New University of Lisbon, Portugal) awarded the 2017 Czochralski Prize.

Elvira Fortunato
Elvira Fortunato

The Polish Academy of Sciences, together with the European Society Materials Research Society (E-MRS), the Polish Society of Materials Science and the Polish Society of Crystal Growth awarded the 2017 Czochralski Prize to Professor Elvira Fortunato, from the Faculty of Science and Technology of New University of Lisbon, in recognition of her research work in the field of Advanced Materials Science.

Awarded annually since 2005 by the E-MRS, the Czochralski Prize bears the name of one of the best known Polish scientists, Jan Czochralski (1885-1953), inventor of the Czochralski process used in crystal growth, in particular for silicon.

Professor Fortunato, who has a close relationship with the Brazilian Materials community and who gave a plenary lecture at the 2016 SBPMat Meeting, will receive the award on September 20, 2017 in Warsaw (Poland) during the E-MRS Fall Meeting.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *