ICAM 2009 - CD-ROM

  Symposium E:

Magnetic Materials at the Nanoscale

MAGNETIC MATERIALS AT THE NANOSCALE is a parallel symposium within the ICAM 2009. Scientific and engineering communities interested in basic and applied magnetism at the nanoscale are invited to attend and contribute to its sessions. Presentations will be focused on fundamental issues as well as on the use and/or development of new techniques to further develop our understanding of advanced nanostructured magnetic materials.

Magnetic phenomena at the nanometer-length scale have come of age. Today, by artificially structuring magnetic materials in various configurations, new magnetic phenomena due to geometric confinement, physical proximity, and self organization are studied and applied. This is illustrated by several examples in ultrahigh density magnetic information storage and biomedical applications. The Symposium on Magnetic Materials at the Nanoscale addresses the challenges and scientific problems in this very topical field, from the fundamental issues to the fabrication and applications.

The Symposium will provide space for invited, oral and poster presentations of original contributions covering the proposed topics. It will also provide a forum for interesting discussions with experts and the disclosure of techniques to characterize and measure structure-related property in nanostructured magnetic materials.

Members of the international scientific and engineering communities interested in magnetic materials at the nanoscale and in recent developments of associated technologies, are invited to attend and contribute to the Symposium.

An exhibition of related services, equipment, materials, software, technical journals and books will be held during the Symposium.

Hot topics to be covered by the symposium:

  • Fundamental magnetic phenomena in materials at the nanoscale: structures, thin films, particles and interactions
  • Magnetization dynamics and micromagnetics: vortex dynamics, ultrafast switching
  • Neutrons and synchrotron x-rays for magnetism
  • Magnetoelectronic materials and effects: Spin-dependent transport and spin electronics, magnetoresistance, magnetoimpedance, magnetoelectric effect
  • Hybrid systems : ferromagnetic/superconducting, multiferroics
  • Novel magnetic materials and device applications
  • Magnetic microscopy and imaging
  • Biomagnetism, life sciences and applications
  • Magnetism for information technologies
  • Magnetism for sustainable energy

Invited speakers/talks (confirmed list):

  • Antonio Azevedo, "Magnetization and oscillations and switching in magnetic nanostructures"; Universidade Federal de Pernambuco, Brazil
  • Belita Koiller, "Quantum control of spin qubits in silicon"; Universidade Federal do Rio de Janeiro, Brazil
  • Hartmut Zabel, “Polarized neutrons for magnetic thin films and superlattices”; Ruhr-University Bochum, Germany
  • Johan Akerman, “Device implications of spin-transfer torques”; IKT, Sweden
  • Jordi Sort, "Nanoscale magnetic lithographic with Iron irradiation", Universitat Autonoma de Barcelona, Spain
  • Julia Lyubina, "Novel magnetic materials for energy efficient technologies", IFW Dresden, Germany
  • Kristiaan Temst, "Get perpendicular: the spin structurein perpendicularly magnetized Fe-FePt bilayes"; K. U. Leuven, Belgium 
  • Liesbeth Lagae, "Magnetic particles as labeling material for advanced bilogical applications"; IMEC, Belgium
  • Paulo Morais, “Medical and environmental applications of magnetic nanomaterials”; UNB, Brasil
  • Pedro Prieto, "Magnetoelectric effect in BiFeO3 thin films"; CENM, Colombia
  • Peter Fischer, "Magnetic soft X-ray microscopy: A path to image ultrafast spin dynamics on the nanoscale"; Berkeley National Laboratory, U.S.A.
  • Sang-Koog Kim, “Vortex dynamics in confined magnetic thin films”; National University of Seoul, Korea
  • Vincent G Harris, "Advances on Microwave Materials"; Northeastern University, U. S. A.
  • Javier E Villegas (Universite de Paris Sud)


Scientific committee members:

  • Adekunle O. Adeyeye, National University of Singapore, Singapore
  • Carlos Rinaldi Ramos, University of Puerto Rico, Puerto Rico
  • Ching-Ray Chang, National Taiwan University, Taiwan
  • Christian Binek, University of Nebraska, U.S.A.
  • Dario Niebieskikwiat, Universidad San Francisco de Quito, Ecuador
  • Eric Fullerton, University of California San Diego, U.S. A.
  • Galo Cárdenas, Universidad de Concepción, Chile
  • Gernot Guntherodt, RWTH Aachen University, Aachen, Germany
  • Haifeng Ding, Nanjing University, China
  • Hariharan Srikanth, University of South Florida, U.S.A.
  • Julio Guimpel, Centro Atómico de Bariloche, Argentina
  • Kannan M. Krishnan, University of Washington, USA
  • Kevin O’Grady, University of York, UK
  • Laura Heyderman, Paul Scherrer Institut, Switzerland
  • Leopoldo Suescun, Cryssmat-Lab/DETEMA, Uruguay
  • Mario Baibich, UFRGS, Brazil
  • Michael Coey, Trinity College Dublin, Irland
  • Nilson A. Oliveira, Universidade do Estado do Rio de Janeiro, Brazil
  • Pablo Levy, CNEA, Buenos Aires, Argentina
  • Patricio Vargas Cantin, Universidad Técnica Federico Santa María, Chile
  • Russell Cowburn, Imperial College London, England
  • Robert Stamps, University of Western Australia, Australia
  • Roberto Escudero, Universidad Nacional Autónoma de México, México
  • Teruo Ono, Kyoto University, Japan
  • Takao Suzuki, Toyota Institute of Technology, Japan
  • Waldemar A. A. Macedo, Centro de Desenvolvimento da Tecnologia Nuclear, Brazil   

Full papers: Journal of Materials Science (Springer) will publish Special ICAM 2009 issue(s) containing full papers of abstracts presented in this symposium provided such manuscripts are reviewed according to the Journal standards. Authors are invited, not obliged, to submit full length manuscripts.

For instructions, please check Full Papers Publication.

Symposium organizers:

Maria-Elena Gómez
Department of Physics
Universidad del Valle
Calle 13 Carrera 100-00
Phone number: 57-2-3335750
E-mail: megomez@calima.univalle.edu.co

Axel Hoffmann
Argonne National Laboratory
Materials Science Division and Center for Nanoscale Materials
9700 S Cass Ave.
Argonne, IL 60439

Phone number: (1) 630-252-5469
E-mail: hoffmann@anl.gov

Elisa Saitovitch
Ministério da Ciência e Tecnologia
Rua Dr. Xavier Sigaud 150
Urca 22290-180
Rio de Janeiro, RJ – Brasil

Phone number: (21) 21417182
E-mail: esaitovitch@yahoo.com.br

Jose Luis Vicent
U. Complutense
Departamento Fisica Materiales Facultad Ciencias Fisicas
Universidad Complutense
28040 Madrid (Spain)

Phone number: 34 913944559 (office)
E-mail: jlvicent@fis.ucm.es

Yvan Bruynseraede
K. U. Leuven
Laboratory of Solid-state Physics and Magnetism
Department of Physics and Astronomy
Celestijnenlaan 200D
B-3001 Heverlee, Belgium

Phone number: (32)- 16-32 72 77/71 84
E-mail: yvan.bruynseraede@fys.kuleuven.be





  Copyright 2009 - ICAM 2009