ICAM 2009 - CD-ROM

  Symposium BB:

From Theory to Experiment: Advances in engineering materials

The objective of this symposium is to discuss the impact of joint theoretical /experimental research in order to improve the understanding of intrinsic and extrinsic solid state properties (including ferroelectric, dielectric, conductivity and photoluminescent aspects).

The idea is to promote discussions that involve fundamental and technological aspects, leading to a better comprehension and prediction of the properties of devices based on technological materials.

  • Methodological advances in Computational and experimental methods applied to nanostructured materials, surfaces, interfaces and bulk;
  • Inorganic oxides candidates for electronic devices;
  • Theoretical analysis of energetic and dynamic factors in technological materials;
  • Development and application of state of the art state theoretical-computational methodologies (classical, empirical, semi-empirical, HF, Pos-HF, DFT, QM/MM, MD, MC, periodic and hybrid models,  statistical methods, current approaches and trends) to new materials;
  • Molecule-surface interactions and reactions;
  • Materials with potential applications for generation of energy and protection of the environment;
  • Nanomaterials with differential extrinsic properties – theoretical and experimental aspects.

The format of the symposium will include invited lectures, contributed oral presentations and poster presentations. It will create opportunities for the establishment of strategic alliances and collaborations with international scientists working in a broad range of theoretical and experimental multidisciplinary areas.

Hot topics to be covered by the symposium:

  • Photoluminescence materials
  • Performance of Semiconductor Devices
  • Advances in Nanostructured materials
  • Methodological advances in Theoretical and Computational methods
  • Mechanical properties and structural materials
  • New technologies…

Invited speakers/talks (confirmed):

  • Marco Antonio Chaer, UFRJ, Brazil
  • G. Pacchioni, Universita Milano-Bicocca, Italy
  • J. Andrés, Universitat. Jaume I, Spain
  • R. A. Catlow, Univ. College London, London
  • Francesc Illas, Universitat de Barcelona, Spain
  • Carlos Paz e Araujo, University of Colorado, USA
  • José Arana Varela, Unesp, Brazil
  • J. F. Sanz, U. de Sevilla, Spain
  • C. M. Zicovich-Wilson, Univ. Cuernavaca, México
  • Donato A. G. Aranda, UFRJ, Brazil
  • A. C. Pavão, UFPE, Brazil
  • J. Walkimar M. Carneiro, UFF, Brazil
  • J. B. L. Martins, UnB,  Brazil
  • J. Rachid Mohallem, UFMG
  • T. H. Topper, Univ. Waterloo, Canada
  • A. M. Simas, UFPe, Brazil
  • D. Suvorov, Jozef Stefan Institute, Slovenia

Scientific committee members:

  • Elson Longo  (Unesp, Brazil)
  • Ieda Maria Garcia dos Santos (UFPB, Brazil)
  • Fernando Ruette (IVIC, Venezuela)
  • A. Aspuru-Guzik (Harvard, USA)
  • Giorgio Zgrablich (Univ. S. Luis, Argentina)
  • Norge Cruz Hernandes (Universidad de Sevilla, Spain)
  • Emmanuele Orhan (Universitat Limoges, France)
  • Jean-François Halet (Université de Rennes 1, France)
  • Victor Pollo (Universitat  Jaume I, Spain)
  • Carlos Alberto Paskocimas (UFRN, Brazil)
  • Ingrid Távora Weber (UFPE, Brazil)
  • Aguinaldo Robinson de Souza (Unesp, Brazil)
  • Nelson Morgon (Unicamp, Brazil)
  • Carlos O. Graeff (Unesp, Brazil)
  • Sidnei Pianaro (UEPG, Brazil)
  • Sergio Ricardo de Lazaro (UEPG,  Brazil)
  • Carlos Emmerson da Costa (UFPA, Brazil)
  • Presley Cerejo (CEFET, Brazil)
  • José Divino dos Santos (UEGO, Brazil)
  • Teodorico Ramalho (UFLa, Mg)
  • Ricardo L. Longo (UFPe, Brazil)
  • Carlos Landauro (Nat. Univ. San Marcos, Peru)
  • Pedro Venezuela (UFF, Brazil)

Full papers: Journal of Materials Science (Springer) will publish Special ICAM 2009 issue(s) containing full papers of abstracts presented in this symposium provided such manuscripts are reviewed according to the Journal standards. Authors are invited, not obliged, to submit full length manuscripts.

For instructions, please check Full Papers Publication.

Symposium organizers:

Carlton Anthony Taft
Rua Dr. Xavier Sigaud, 150, Urca, 22290-180

Phone number: 21 -2141-7201
E-mail: catff@terra.com.br

William A. Lester, Jr.
U. of California, Berkeley
Department of Chemistry
Berkeley, California, 94720-1460 USA
Phone number: 510-643-9590
E-mail: walester@lbl.gov

Julio Ricardo Sambrano
Av Luis E. C. Coube s/n, Bauru
DM – Faculdade de Ciências

Phone number: 14-3103-6086

E-mail: sambrano@fc.unesp.br

Valérie Bouquet
U. of Rennes
Sciences Chimiques,UMR CNRS 6226
Equipe Chimie du Solide et Matériaux
Bât. 10A, Campus de Beaulieu, 35042 Rennes Cedex, France

Phone number: +33 2 23 23 56 56
E-mail: valerie.bouquet@univ-rennes1.fr

Armando Beltran
U. of Jaume
Campus de Riu Sec, 12080

Phone number: 54 - 964226032
E-mail: beltran@uji.es





  Copyright 2009 - ICAM 2009