ICAM 2009 - CD-ROM

  Symposium F:

Solving Nanostructures through Electron Microscopy

The decreasing scale of modern technology continues to push the requirements for analysis to the limits. Advanced electron microscopy is among the very few techniques able to provide structural, compositional as well as electronic information on an atomic scale.

As modern technology is approaching Richard Feynman's legendary goal of constructing new materials "atom by atom", there is a parallel and growing need for “atom by atom” characterization. The main scope of this symposium is to bring together materials scientists and electron microscopists in order to stimulate a discussion between both and learn about each other's requirements and limitations.

Electron microscopy has evolved enormously over the last decade, with major advances in spatial, spectral and temporal resolution. Aberration-corrected instruments have greatly improved structural resolution; the invention of monochromated sources has advanced energy resolution; and the development of new detectors offers a breakthrough in temporal resolution. These improvements in instrumentation open the way to new applications of electron microscopy in materials research, ranging from catalysts to nanoscale structures with novel magnetic, electronic, photonic or mechanical properties. This symposium is open to both, materials and electron microscopy communities and aims to create a cooperative interaction.

Hot topics to be covered by the symposium:

  • advanced electron microscopy
  • EELS analysis
  • 3D electron tomography
  • sp2-bonded nanostructures (including nanotubes, graphene and related materials)
  • carbon based nanocomposites
  • ceramic thin film analysis
  • metallic nanoparticles
  • mechanisms and dynamics in nanoscale materials

Invited speakers (confirmed list):

  • Rafal Dunin-Borkowski (holography of magnetic nanoparticles, Denmark)
  • Alex Zettl (sp2 bonded materials, UC, Berkeley, USA)
  • Angus Kirkland (Cs corrected microscopy, Oxford, UK)
  • Gianluigi Botton (Energy-Loss Spectroscopy and Near-Edge Structures with Aberration-corrected TEM, Mc Masters, Canada)
  • Annick Loiseau (TEM: a tool for the direct determination of carbon nanotube structure, ONERA-Paris, France)
  • Carla Bittencourt (X-ray microscopy, Univeristy of Mons)
  • Daniel Ugarte (Elongation and rupture of nanoscale metal wires, UNICAMP, Brazil)
  • Christian Colliex (EELS mapping, a key component for the exploration of the nanoworld, Orsay, France)

Scientific committee members:

  • Daniel Ugarte (Campinas, Brazil)
  • Alex Zettl (UC Berkeley, USA)
  • Chris Kiely (Lehigh, USA)
  • Rafal Dunin-Borkowski (Denmark)
  • Frances Ross (IBM, USA)
  • Martin Hytch (Toulouse, France)
  • Christopher P. Ewels (IMN-CNRS, Nantes, France)
  • Paul Midgley (Cambridge, UK)
  • Angus Kirkland (Oxford, UK)
  • David Muller (Cornell, USA)
  • Gianluigi Botton (Mc Masters, Canada)
  • Denis Arcon (Faculty of Mathematics and Physics, University of Ljubljana, Slovenia)

Full papers: Journal of Materials Science (Springer) will publish Special ICAM 2009 issue(s) containing full papers of abstracts presented in this symposium provided such manuscripts are reviewed according to the Journal standards. Authors are invited, not obliged, to submit full length manuscripts.

For instructions, please check Full Papers Publication.

Symposium organizers:

Gustaaf Van Tendeloo
EMAT - University of Antwerp
Groenenborgerlaan 171, B-2020
Antwerp Belgium

Phone number: +32-32653266
E-mail: staf.vantendeloo@ua.ac.be

Guillermo Solórzano
Departamento de Ciência dos Materiais e Metalurgia
Rua Marquês de São Vicente, 225 - Gávea
22543-900 - Rio de Janeiro - RJ, Brasil

Phone number: +55 21 3527-1239
E-mail: guilsol@puc-rio.br

Uli Dahmen
Lawrence Berkeley Laboratory
Berkeley CA 94720-8250

Phone number: +1-510 486 4627
E-mail: udahmen@lbl.gov

Carla Bittencourt
University of Mons
Nicolas Copernic 1, 7000 Mons, Belgium

Phone number: +3256373851
E-mail: carla.bittencourt@umh.ac.be





  Copyright 2009 - ICAM 2009