Download Flyer PDF

Symposium N

Materials for energy conversion and storage

Scope of the Symposium

Implementing the infrastructure for universal access to sustainable energy is a critical scientific, technological and social challenge, which will require significant capacity building within developing and developed countries. This symposium will focus on the technologies and design of materials for sustainable renewable energy challenge. Contributions regarding the development of organic, inorganic, hybrid and nanomaterials applied to different forms of energy conversion and energy storage are expected. Research areas related to hydrogen storage, secondary batteries, solar cells, photo-electrochemistry, fuel cells, solar fuels, catalysis and electrocatalysis, experimental techniques and modeling and simulation of materials for energy; devices for energy storage, saving and conversion, and smart grids, as well as Waste-to-Energy innovative technologies, are welcome. Special emphasis is devoted on advanced materials and nanostructures, advanced characterization techniques, non-conventional synthesis and processing routes, and modeling of energy-related materials. This symposium brings together Brazilian and foreign researchers interested in different aspects of energy-related materials, opening possibilities for valuable discussions of new concepts, trends and technologies for energy conversion and storage. In particular, the energy challenge will be addressed using the recently launched UNESCO Chair MATECSS (Materials and Technologies for Energy Conversion, Saving and Storage) as platform and on-going international collaborations. This symposium welcomes attendees with different backgrounds such as chemistry, physics, engineering, biology and so on working in research topics related to energy materials. It is also a valuable opportunity to strength on-going collaborations, prospect new ones and build-up multidisciplinary research networks to foster a collaborative atmosphere and multidisciplinary picture in addressing the sustainable renewable energy challenge.

Abstracts will be solicited in (but not limited to) the following areas

  • Novel energy storage technologies, including Nanostructured carbon materials and next generation batteries (Lithium air batteries, Magnesium batteries, etc);;
  • Quantum dots, nanowire, nanoparticles and other nanostructures for energy conversion and storage;
  • Organic and inorganic materials for solar cells;
  • Materials for hydrogen storage (metal hydrides, chemical hydrides, MOFs, zeolites, conducting polymers, etc.) and storage of other gas fuels, and gas to liquid conversion;
  • Characterization techniques for energy materials;
  • Modeling and simulation of materials for energy storage and conversion;
  • New materials for Energy Saving issues (Solid State lighting, new infrastructure materials for building, smart grids);
  • Waste-to-Energy innovative technologies;

Invited speakers
  • Giovanni Fanchini
    (Dept. of Physics & Astronomy, University of Western Ontario (UWO), Canadá) [Confirmed]
  • Nicola Seriani
    (Abdus Salam International Centre for Theoretical Physics, ICTP ) [Confirmed]
  • Horacio Corti
    (Instituto de Química Física de los Materiales, Meio Ambiente, y Energía - Universidad de Buenos Aires) [Confirmed]
  • Denis David
    (Instituto de Física, Universidade Federal da Bahia ) [Confirmed]
  • Tatiana Duque Martins
    ( Instituto de Química, Universidade Federal de Goias) [Confirmed]
  • Riad Nechache
    (Department of Electrical Engineering, École de Technologie Supérieure) [Confirmed]
  • Eduardo G. Ciapina
    (São Paulo State University (UNESP), Guaratinguetá School of Engineering) [Confirmed]
  • Carlos Graeff
    (Faculdade de Ciências, UNESP, Bauru) [Confirmed]
  • Elisabete Inacio Santiago
    (Instituto de Pesquisas Energéticas e Nucleares (IPEN), Brasil) [Confirmed]
  • Isabella Concina
    (Department of Engineering Sciences and Mathematics, Luleå University of Technology, Suécia) [Confirmed]
  • Oomman K. Varghese
    (Department of Physics, University of Houston, EUA.) [Confirmed]
  • Malik Maaza
    (University of South Africa, Africa do Sul) [Confirmed]
  • David Kisailus
    ( Bourns College of Engineering, University of California Riverside, EUA) [Confirmed]

Symposium Organizers
  • Sydney Ferreira Santos (CECS, Universidade Federal do ABC)
  • Adam Duong (Institut de recherche sur l?hydrogène Département de chimie, biochimie et physique (DCBP), Université du Québec à Trois-Rivières)
  • Federico Rosei (INRS ? Centre Énergie Matériaux Télécommunications)
  • Caetano Rodrigues Miranda (Instituto de Física, USP)
  • Clara Santato (Département de génie physique, École Polytechnique de Montréal)


Sponsorship Gold

Sponsorship Silver

Sponsorship Bronze