Download Flyer PDF

Symposium O

Materials, Devices and Systems for Energy Storage and Energy Harvesting

Scope of the Symposium

Energy harvesting is an exciting new technology that has the promise to promote novel devices by conversion of ambient energy into electricity. The development of nanomaterials for energy harvesting technologies, including thermoelectrics, piezoelectrics, triboelectrics, pyroelectrics, electromagnetics, including the multi-modal integration has become an important design paradigm in development of nanogenerators. Additionally, the development of new Li-ion Batteries and Novel Battery Chemistries or supercapacitors capable of storing the generated energy is another crucial issue for the improvement of energy storage systems (ESSs), since those systems must address the need of efficient energy storage, high power, low cost and portability. For that, it is necessary to explore new chemistries, such as allowing and conversion materials, as well as to improve the performance of each battery component, for instance electroactive materials (cathode and anode), separators, electrolytes and device design. Self-powered systems designed to function with ultra-low power offer great promise for applications in implantable electronics, remote and mobile environmental sensors, nanorobotics, intelligent MEMSs/NEMSs, and portable/wearable personal electronics, all related to the Internet of Things (IoT).
This symposium is intended to provide a high-level discussion for scientists and engineers working on the technological development of materials and devices for energy storage and energy harvesting, as well as on the fundamental understanding of related effects. Abstracts are welcomed in the following areas: theoretical and experimental studies of energy harvesting principles and technologies; semiconductors and ferroelectrics; dielectrics; nanomaterials and fundamental coupling; investigation and applications of nanogenerators for self-powered devices and systems; materials for electrodes and electrolytes in self-charging power cells for Li-ion batteries and supercapacitors.

Abstracts will be solicited in (but not limited to) the following areas

  • Piezoelectric and Triboelectric materials for mechanical energy harvesting
  • Pyroelectric and Thermoelectric materials for scavenging thermal energy
  • 1D/2D Piezoelectric, Semiconductor and Ferroelectric Nanomaterial: Synthesis and Characterization
  • Lithium Batteries: Li-ion, Li-Air, Li-metal
  • Novel Battery Chemistries (Na+, K+, Ca2+, Mg2+, Al3+, etc.) and Redox Flow Batteries
  • Capacitors and Thin Film-based Electronics, Batteries and Devices
  • Electrolytes: Liquid and Solid Electrolytes and Additives
  • Theoretical Study of energy harvesting and energy storage
  • Energy management for wearable systems
  • Novel Approaches in Materials integration and manufacturing technologies

Invited speakers
  • Márcio Vidotti
    (Universidade Federal do Paraná - UFPR) [Confirmed]
  • Gurpreet Singh
    (Kansas State University) [Confirmed]
  • Glaura Goulart Silva
    (Universidade Ferderal de Minas Gerais - UFMG) [Confirmed]
  • Bruce S. Dunn
    (UCLA) [Confirmed]
  • Jorge Alberto Soares Tenório
    (Escola Politécnica da Universidade de São Paulo (EPUSP)) [Confirmed]
  • Luiz Henrique Dall´Antonia
    (Universidade Estadual de Londrina) [Confirmed]
  • Daniel Buchholz
    (Helmholtz Institute Ulm (HIU) / Karlsruhe Institute of Technology (KIT)) [To be confirmed]
  • Roberto Manuel Torresi
    (Departamento de Química Fundamental Instituto de Química - Universidade de São Paulo) [Confirmed]

Symposium Organizers
  • Talita Mazon (CTI Renato Archer)
  • Arokia Nathan (University of Cambridge)
  • Maria Aparecida Zaghete (IQ - UNESP)
  • Hanbin Ma (University of Cambridge)
  • Alexandre Urbano (Depto de Física, Universidade Estadual de Londrina - PR)
  • Luciana Gomes Chagas (Helmholtz Institute Ulm (HIU) / Karlsruhe Institute of Technology (KIT))
  • Diogo Vieira Carvalho (Helmholtz Institute Ulm (HIU) / Karlsruhe Institute of Technology (KIT))
  • Marcos Jose Leite Santos (Universidade Federal do Rio Grande do Sul)


Sponsorship Gold

Sponsorship Silver

Sponsorship Bronze