Symposium C: Organic electronics and spintronics

Scope of the symposium

In the last years organic electronics became a strategic area due to the extraordinary research and application of a new class of materials called organic semiconductors. Organic semiconductors present a wide possibility of tuning of physical properties through the modification of the molecular architecture, allowing applications in several different types of organic semiconductor devices. Among these, are electronic devices (diodes, transistors, memories), optoelectronic devices (light-emitting diodes, photodiodes, solar cells) and spintronic devices (transistors, magnetoresistors, spin-valves).

The symposium will focus on advances in the materials science of novel organic semiconducting materials, fundamental physics and chemistry of such substances, and their application to electronic, optoelectronic and spintronic devices.

Abstracts will be solicited in (but not limited to) the following topics:

- Synthesis and characterization of organic materials for electronic applications
- Organic and hybrid device physics
- Organic and molecular electronics and spintronics
- Theoretical calculations of electronic properties

Symposium organizers

Ivo A. Hümmelgen (UFPR, Curitiba, PR, Brazil) Carlos F. O. Graeff (UNESP, Bauru, SP, Brazil) Marco Cremona (PUC, Rio de janeiro, RJ, Brazil)

Invited speakers (tentative list)

Heinz Bässler (University of Bayreuth, Germany), V. Dediu (ISMN-CNR, Bologna, Italy), Dongge Ma (Changchun Institute of Applied Chemistry, China), Fabio Pulizzi (editor of Nature Materials, UK), Maria Vittoria Russo (La Sapienza, Italy), N.J. Tao (Arizona State University, USA), Valy Vardeny (The University of Utah, USA), Yung Woo Park (Seoul National University, Korea), Peter Bobert (University of Eindhoven, Netherlands), Bin Hu (University of Tennessee, Knoxville), Michele Muccini (ISMN-CNR, Bologna, Italy), Mark E. Thompson (University of Southern California, EUA), Vladimir Bulović (Massachusetts Institute of Technology, EUA), George Malliaras (Ecole Nat. Supérieure des Mines de St. Etienne, France), Mihai Irimia-Vladu (Johannes Kepler University Linz, Austria), Antonio Facchetti (Northwestern University, USA).

Scientific committee members (tentative list)

André A. Pasa (UFSC, Brazil)

Celso P. de Mello (UFPE, Brazil)
Douglas S. Galvão (UNICAMP, Brazil)
Rodrigo F. Bianchi (UFOP, Brazil)
Marlus Koehler (UFPR, Brazil)
I.H. Bechtold (UFSC, Brazil)
L. Cury (UFMG, Brazil)
Lucimara S. Roman (UFPR, Brazil)
Henri I. Boudinov (UFRGS, Brazil)
Adriano. R. V. Benvenho (UFABC, Brazil)